Home / Learn More

Increasingly, consumers are paying attention to who, where, and how food is harvested. It is easy to become overwhelmed with all of these questions, especially when it comes to seafood! With a majority of Alaskan seafood being exported out of state and a growing number of Alaskan consumers demanding local seafood, a disconnect between consumers and the local fishing industry exists today. In addition to this, many local fishermen face obstacles in maintaining a profitable business and some fishing operations are actually causing damage to our marine ecosystems.

Because of these issues, Catch 49 finds it important to support local, sustainable seafood caught by community-based fishermen. Learn more with these resources below.

What do all these terms mean?

Local [ˈlō-kəl]: Seafood caught by Alaskan fishermen and purchased by Alaskan consumers.

Sustainable [sə-ˈstā-nə-bəl]: Seafood caught in a manner that upholds the health of marine habitat and ecosystems. This means a minimization of: habitat damage, poor handling of fish, and waste.

Community-Based Fishermen [kə-ˈmyü-nə-tē-bāst fi-shər-mən]: Fishermen who live and work in the communities where they fish.


Recipes & Preparation Tips

Cooking Techniques from AMSI: wildalaskaseafood.com
Eat Alaska Recipes from ASMI: wildalaskaseafood.com
Fishes & Dishes: fishesanddishes.com
Techniques for Preserving Fish: uaf.edu/ces/foods/preservation/meatsfish
Wild Alaska Recipes from Sitka Salmon Shares: sitkasalmonshares.com


Restaurants Serving Sustainable Seafood in Alaska

    Bear Tooth Grill
    Anchorage, AK
    beartoothgrill.net

    Seven Glaciers Restaurant
    Girdwood, AK
    alyeskaresort.com


    *If your restaurant provides local, sustainable seafood please let us know and we will add you to our list!


    Resources for Consumers

    Future of Fish: futureoffish.org
    LocalCatch.org: localcatch.org
    Author, Paul Greenberg's website: paulgreenberg.org
    Santa Monica Seafood Guide: santamonicaseafood.com
    Sitka Local Foods Network: sitkalocalfoodsnetwork.org
    Sustainable Seafood Guide for Consumers: seafoodwatch.org
    University of Alaska Cooperative Extension: www.uaf.edu/ces


    Other Community Supported Fisheries

    Alaskans Own: thealaskatrust.org
    Dock to Dish: docktodish.com
    Drifters Fish: driftersfish.com
    Morshovi Bay Fish Co.: morshovifish.com
    Sitka Salmon Shares: sitkasalmonshares.com
    Skipper Otto's Community Supported Fishery: skipperotto.com


    Other Organizations Engaged in Sustainable Seafood

    Alaska Food Policy Council: akfoodpolicycouncil.com
    Alaska Seafood Marketing Institute: alaskaseafood.org
    Anchorage Food Mosaic: anchoragefoodmosaic.com
    Boat to School: boat-to-school.org
    Bristol Bay Sockeye/Bristol Bay Regional Seafood Development Association (BBRSDA): bristolbaysockeye.org
    Chefs Collaborative: chefscollaborative.org
    Eat LocAlaska: akfood.com
    Kodiak Jig Seafoods: kodiakjig.org
    Naknek Family Fisheries: naknekfish.com
    Slow Fish Canada: slowfood.ca/slow-fish
    Tidal Vision: tidalvisionusa.com


     

    Keep in touch on local seafood issues and events through Catch 49’s monthly e-newsletter!